The Fukunaga Scholarship Foundation Recognizes 2019 Recipients

July 23, 2019

Left to right: Eric Fukunaga – Vice Chairman, Servco Pacific Inc.; Nicole Poentis; Arden Patoc; Cameryn Kahalewai; Allena Wong; Stacia Eng; Justin Loi; Mary Joy Butac; Mark Fukunaga, Chairman & CEO, Servco Pacific Inc. Not pictured: Kalamanamana Harman, Aidan Reihl, Rodney Uyehara.

This year, 10 students were recognized as the 2019 Fukunaga Scholarship recipients. The Fukunaga Scholarship is awarded to encourage students from Hawaii to work towards a career in Business.  Each scholarship recipient from the 2019 cohort will receive $20,000 over four years (or a pro-rated amount over fewer years).

The 2019 recipients are:

  • Mary Joy Butac – University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Stacia Eng – Washington State University
  • Kalamanamana Harman – Dartmouth College
  • Cameryn Kahalewai – Brigham Young University-Provo
  • Justin Loi – University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Nicole Poentis – Chapman University
  • Arden Patoc – Seattle University
  • Aidan Reihl – California Polytechnic University in San Luis Obispo
  • Rodney Uyehara – Seattle University
  • Allena Wong – Linfield College

Founded in 1950 by Peter Fukunaga, the founder of Servco Pacific Inc., the Fukunaga Scholarship Foundation offers scholarships to Hawaii residents pursuing a career in Business by earning a Bachelor’s degree at any accredited four-year college or university. Four-year scholarships are awarded to students in increments of $5,000 annually. Over its almost 70-year history, the Foundation has supported over 500 students. Applications for the 2020 Fukunaga Scholarships will be accepted online from November 2019 at