The Fukunaga Scholarship Foundation Recognizes 2023 Recipients

August 9, 2023

Left to right: Emily Fukunaga, Director, Supply Chain Management Transformation, Servco Pacific Inc.; Shine Winter; Hoku Tiwanak; Andrew Nguyen; Christopher “Bubba” Casupang; Jenna Weigelt; Logan Lau; Niko Banto; Macie Lum; Anabel Kinsey; Maverick Yasuda; Mark Fukunaga, Chairman & CEO, Servco Pacific Inc.

This year, the Fukunaga Scholarship Foundation announced the 10 recipients of the Fukunaga Scholarship for the 2023-2024 academic year at its annual Fukunaga Scholarship mixer held at the Oʻahu Country Club.

The Fukunaga Scholarship is awarded to encourage students from Hawaiʻi to work towards a career in Business. Each scholarship recipient from the 2023 cohort will receive $20,000 over four years (or a pro-rated amount over fewer years).

The 2023 recipients are:

  • Niko Banto – Babson College
  • Christopher “Bubba” Casupang – University of San Diego
  • Anabel Kinsey – Fordham University
  • Logan Lau – Stanford University
  • Macie Lum – University of California Irvine
  • Andrew Nguyen – Yale University
  • Hoku Tiwanak – Oregon State University
  • Jenna Weigelt – University of Hawaiʻi at Manoa
  • Shine Winter – Western Colorado University
  • Maverick Yasuda –  Harvard University

Founded in 1950 by Peter Fukunaga, the founder of Servco Pacific Inc., the Fukunaga Scholarship Foundation offers scholarships to Hawaiʻi residents pursuing a career in Business by earning an undergraduate degree from any accredited four-year college or university. Four-year scholarships are awarded to students in increments of $5,000 annually. Over its 73-year history, the Foundation has supported over 500 students, with 38 students currently attending colleges and universities throughout the United States.